

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS 19th Annual Philip W. Rogers Award

Named for Dr. Philip Rogers, an nephrologist with Hattiesburg Clinic, who dedicated 32 years of his life to serving the people of South Mississippi as a physician, mentor and humanitarian. Dr. Rogers, Forrest General Hospital's first nephrologist, was known as a kind-hearted, brilliant physician and great medical staff leader. He was greatly admired and respected for his commitment to his patients and the medical field.

If there is someone in the medical field (physicians, nurses, health care workers) who you believe to be deserving of this honor, please complete the attached application and fax to **601-288-4180** by **Friday, November 8, 2024**. If you have questions or would like more information, please call FGH Medical Staff Services at **601-288-4325**.

Please fill in the blanks with your nominee's information:

First Name:		Last Name:	
Place of Employment:			
Street Address:			
City:	State:	Zip Code:	Phone:
Please fill in the blanks with your information:			
First Name:		Last Name:	
Place of Employment:			
Street Address:			
City:	State:	Zip Code:	Phone:
Email Address:			
Home Phone:		Home Phone:	

Please complete and fax the attached application to 601-288-4180. Deadline for applications is Friday, November 8, 2024.

For more information, please call 601-288-4325.

19th Annual Philip W. Rogers Award Nominations Form

Select from the following categories:

- Leadership: An individual who guides the organization or department extraordinarily well in order to address the needs of the patient or public (good citizenship.)
- Humanitarian: An individual who goes above and beyond the call of duty, to exhibit concern and empathy for the patients.
- **Mentor:** An individual who shares knowledge, skills, information and perspective to foster the personal and professional growth of someone else.
- Innovator: An individual who implements projects that aim to deliver better health and improved patient care.
- Advocate: An individual who provides direct and personalized services to a patient and/or their family as they navigate the health care system. They may also engage in activities that promote health and access to health care in communities and the larger public.
- **1.** Judging for awards will be based solely on the information provided on this form. Please provide enough detail to help judges understand why they should consider your nominee. (Attach additional information if needed).

2. Describe an instance involving your nominee in which something said or done by the nominee serves as the best illustration of who he/she is.

PAST RECIPIENTS

2006

Humanitarian Dr. Jon Thornton – Nephrologist, Hattiesburg Clinic Mentor Dr. Mark Molpus – Radiologist, Hattiesburg Radiology Group Innovator Sheila Shappley, RN – FGH Trauma Services

2007

Leadership Tommy Thornton, CEO – Hattiesburg Clinic Humanitarian Sabrina Newsome – Dialysis Waynesboro Mentor Dr. Brantley B. Pace – Physician, Lawrence County Innovator Dr. Lewis Hatten – Vascular Surgeon, Hattiesburg Clinic

2008

Leadership Dr. Joe Johnston – Mount Olive Humanitarian Karen Brooks – Director, FGH Inpatient Dialysis Mentor Dr. Ralph Abraham – General Surgeon, Hattiesburg Clinic Innovator Dr. Ronald Kent – Pediatrician, Hattiesburg Clinic

2009

Leadership Dr. Steven Farrell – Hospitalist, FGH Chief Medical Officer

Mentor

Dr. Eric Hale – Physician, Family Practice, Hattiesburg Clinic Innovator

Dr. Benjamin Carmichael, Cardiologist, Retired Advocate Sandi Thames – Chief Administrative Tech, FGH Clinical Lab

2010

Leadership Dr. Thomas Messer – Cardiologist, Southern Heart Center Humanitarian Betty Bly Hatten, RN – FGH Emergency Services Mentor Dr. Allen Harris – Psychiatrist, South Mississippi Psychiatric Group Innovator Dr. Clint White – Neonatologist, Southern Mississippi Neonatology

2011

Leadership Millie Swan – FGH Chief Marketing & Medical Staff Services Officer Humanitarian Debbie West, RN – FGH Emergency Services Mentor Dr. Charles Hernandez – Internal Medicine, Hattiesburg Clinic Innovator Kim Helton – Director, FGH Quality Management

2012

Leadership Melita Miller – Director, FGH Home Care & Hospice Humanitarian The Nurses of 6T South/Neurosurgery Mentor Dr. Bill Peters – General Surgery, FGH Employee Health Innovator Cath Blythe – FGH Infection Preventionist

2013

Leadership Thad Waites, MD – Cardiology & Cardiothoracic Surgery Humanitarian Randy Henderson, MD – Southern Mississippi Neonatology, PA Mentor Joe Marcello – FGH Heart & Vascular Service Line Administrator Innovator Robert Wilkins, MD – Cardiology & Cardiothoracic Surgery

2014

Leadership Dr. William Burnham – Anesthesiology, Hattiesburg Clinic Humanitarian Brad H. Massey, ANP – FGH Heart Failure Clinic Innovator Dr. George McGee – FGH Trauma Surgery Clinic

2015

Leadership Dr. Richard Clatterbuck – Neurosurgery, Hattiesburg Clinic Spine Center Humanitarian Dr. Hilton L. Gillespie – Obstetrics & Gynecology, Hattiesburg Clinic, PA Mentor Dr. A. J. Jackson – Physician Adviser for FGH Case Management and Medical Director of FGH Skilled Nursing Unit Innovator – Kristi Nesler, Clinical Coordinator – FGH Pharmacy

2016

Leadership Anita S. Henderson, MD – Pediatrics, The Pediatric Clinic Humanitarian

Joseph Jody J. Patterson, MD – Emergency Medicine, South Mississippi Emergency Physicians, PA

Mentor

Virginia Jones, Director – Pine Grove Patient Care Services, Pine Grove Behavioral Health & Addiction Services

Innovator

Sanjay Derhgawen, MD – Nephrology, Hattiesburg Clinic, PA

2017

Leadership W. Duncan Donald, III, MD – FGH Trauma Surgery **Humanitarian** Ujwal Reddy Neravetla, MD – Hospitalist, Hattiesburg Clinic, PA

Mentor

Jeffrey C. Williams, MD – Pediatrics, Children's Clinic of Hattiesburg, PA Innovator

Bryan N. Batson, MD – Internal Medicine, Hypertension Center, Hattiesburg Clinic, PA

2018

Leadership John M. Fitzpatrick, MD Humanitarian N. Joseph Salloum, MD Mentor Randel L. Smith, MD Innovator Jose P. Fernandez, Jr., MD

2019

Leadership Michael J. Stonnington, MD Mentor Pauline McGee, RN, BSN Innovator Steven W. Stogner, MD

2020

Leadership Rambod Rouhbakhsh, MD Mentor Keith Jones, MD Innovator Mary Assaad, MD Advocate Todd Benton, MD Advocate Shannon Vega, RN

2021

Leadership Lewis Neese, MD Humanitarian Catherine Hulsey, MD Innovator Mark Borganelli, MD Mentor Muhammed Sattar, MD Advocate David Bullock, MD Advocate Bo Hrom, MD

2022

Leadership Steven Cunningham, MD Humanitarian Charles Griffith, MD Mentor Rick Boyte, MD Innovator Clay King, MD

2023

Leadership Cherie Papizan, MD Humanitarian Sophy Mangana, MD Innovator Jonathon Copp, MD & Joseph Radley, MD Mentor Rosa Byrd, MSN, RN Advocate ER Nurses